Academic Calendar - Federation University Australia

Home > Apply > Academic Calendar > Federation University Australia

 

Trimester

Note: Trimester Important Dates applies to Brisbane campus and onshore and offshore partner providers. It is mandatory for international students enrolled through Partners to undertake studies in semester 1 and 2.

Enrolment in the summer teaching period is optional.

Please download the ATMC Federation University Student Handbook >

Semester One, 2020

(Teaching Period 2007)

Monday 16 March 2020 – Saturday 11 July 2020

Dates

Duration

Notes

Orientation and Enrolment

 

Monday 09 March 2020 – Friday 13 March 2020

 

1 Week

 

Lecture period

 

Monday 16 March 2020 – Friday 05 June 2020

 

12 Weeks

Continuous teaching, learning and assessment weeks. Includes Easter break Friday 10 April 2020 – Tuesday 14 April 2020.

SWOT VAC period

 

Saturday 06 June 2020 – Tuesday 09 June 2020

 

4 Days

Preparation week for final assessment. No tests or examinations to be scheduled in this week.

Semester 1 Examinations

 

Wednesday 10 June 2020 – Saturday 20 June 2020

 

11 Days

Final assessment weeks. Centrally administered examinations will be scheduled during this period

Supplementary and Deferred Examinations

 

Monday 13 July 2020 – Friday 17 July 2020

 

5 Days

 

Transition to online study commences, with Week Two classes

 

Monday 30 March 2020

 

 

Census Date

 

Friday 17 April 2020

 

 

Result Publication Date

 

Monday 06 July 2020

 

 

LECTURE BREAK: Monday 22 June 2020 - Friday 10 July 2020 (3 Weeks)*

 

 

 Semesters Two and Three 2020

 

Semester

Semester 2

Semester 3 2020

Orientation

20-24July 2020

16-23 November2020

Trimester 2 lectures/teaching period commence

27 July 2020

23 November 2020

Last day to enrol

7 August 2020

4 December 2020

Census date: Last date to withdraw without financial penalty from a course

21 August 2020

18 December 2020

End of trimester lecture period

16 October 2020

12 February 2021

SWOT Vac

17-20 October 2020

13-16 February 2021

Examination period

21-31 October 2020

17-27 February 2021

Results published

16 November 2020

15 March 2021

Supplementary and deferred examinations

23-27 November 2020

22-26 March 2021

 

*Lecture breaks do not exclude the possibility of learning experiences such as excursions, consultation, professional experience placement and research. Block mode and other teaching/learning activities e.g. vacation schools and weekend schools that fall outside identified semester periods may be conducted at any time throughout the calendar year.

Further information relating to important dates within a semester please refer to the website: https://federation.edu.au/current-students/essential-info/administration/important-datesb

VICTORIAN PUBLIC HOLIDAYS: 2020 as observed by FedUni

New Year’s Day Holiday

Wednesday 01 January 2020

All Campus

Australia Day

Monday 27 January 2020

All Campus

Labour Day

Monday 09 March 2020

VIC Campus

Good Friday

Friday 10 April 2020

All Campus

Easter Monday

Monday 13 April 2020

All Campus

Easter Tuesday

Tuesday 14 April 2020

All Campus

Anzac Day

Monday 27 April 2020

All Campus

Labour Day

Monday 04 May 2020

QLD Campus

Queen’s Birthday

Monday 08 June 2020

VIC Campus

Queen’s Birthday

Monday 05 October 2020

QLD Campus

Friday before AFL Grand Final

Friday 25 September 2020

VIC Campus

Christmas Day

Friday 25 December 2020

All Campus

Boxing Day

Monday 28 December 2020

All Campus

 

Federation University operates from Thursday 02 January 2020 – Thursday 24 December 2020

The University is closed on all Victorian public holidays 

*The Victorian Government has previously declared a public holiday on the Friday prior to the AFL Grand Final. The AFL Grand Final date for this year is yet to be announced and as a result the public holiday is also to be confirmed. Details will be added when available.